Welcome to the party of consciousness! We're just two conscious chicks seeking different possibilities for our life and living … and we're interested in having others join us!

Definition and Limitation

Maggie and I got together the other night for a Bars trade.  We like to do that, ya know?!  And as usual, my brilliant friend and “The Other Conscious Chicky” had a great awareness.  She’s so cool!

I have no idea exactly what we were talking about.  And we were discussing all the definitions we have for ourselves.  “What definitions?” you ask.  I’ll get to that in a minute.

We tend to have this desire to define everything.  It’s just in our nature I guess.  Maybe we could give *that* up!

Definitions

Here are some definitions we use in our lives:

I am a woman.
I am a man.
I am a screw-up.
He is my brother.
She is weird.
I always do stupid things.
My back is always tight.
I have bad teeth.

Sounds like there is a lot of choice in these scenarios, huh?

Or not.

Limitation

Can you perceive the limitation created by these definitions?  Let me expand…

If you say, “I’m a total screw-up.  I always mess things up.” is there any space for you to choose differently?  Can you choose to *not* be a screw-up?  Seems like it leaves a person a bit choiceless to me.

So, we create all these definitions of who we are and what we do and we set up a box, so to speak, that we can function in.  Anything outside of that box is then not a possibility, right?

Good Idea

That’s a great idea!!!  Let’s impose more limitations on ourselves and each other with all of our definitions!  We’re SO cute.

And brilliant!!!

We’re brilliant because we set up these definitions of who and what we are so that we do not have to step into the potency of all we actually can be!

Would we like to make another choice now?

Eh..probably not.

I mean, living this life of limitation is comfortable, right?  It’s what we’re used to.  It’s familiar.

Stepping out of the box is seen as unfamiliar and can be very uncomfortable.  It can be scary, maybe.

So we stay in our little boxes, afraid to live the life we could truly be living.  Isn’t that awesome?!??!

Is it time?

Is it time to choose something different?  Something so completely different from anything we’ve ever chosen before?  A life and living without definition, without limitation.

Everything that doesn’t allow that will you let it all go now and forever?  Just a thought….

Chime in!  Let us know what kinds of definitions you have and are willing to let go of.  We so enjoy hearing from you!

What else is possible??

Much Gratitude,
Sarah
One Conscious Chick!

Comments on: "Definition and Limitation" (18)

  1. How does it get even better than this, Sara? Thank you for writing this…
    As I was reading this post I was reminded of this quote
    “Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
    Watch your words, for they become actions.
    Watch your actions, for they become habits.
    Watch your habits, for they become character.
    Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.”
    All just interesting points of views but how many of us are using definitions to develop “character” because that’s what’ is valued in this reality?

    • Thank *you* for your contribution!! If you have more to add, I’d appreciate it! Who needs character anyway??

      • Yes, what would it take for more people to chime in?
        If we’re not boxed in our “character” what else is possible? How does it get even better ? 😀

  2. hey ladies! I was gonna chime in, but Maggie’s quote (which is a whole nother subject) got me wandering in the character definition — does one ‘be’ it or ‘have’ it? And if one ‘has’ character — is that like one has clothes? And if that were so, wouldn’t that make it so much easier to change and the little word “a” in front of character gives a whole different perspective and . . . . . now i’m thinking about clothes and . . . . .

  3. Hi Sarah, Maggie, Dawn and everyone!

    I’ve got a definition I would be willing to let go: The Sick Person. In the past, it seemed I was always recovering from an illness or injury. Talk about putting myself in a box! Limitations and walls have hit me in the face no matter where I turned. A week from today I start physical therapy for my latest injury. I’m soooooo ready to be willing! Help!

    • So, great awareness Caren!! And now that you’ve acknowledged the box you can have another choice…if you’d like. Are you sure you don’t wanna come to MN in January?? haha!! I love how you said, “In the past…” That seems like a step in the right direction! What would it take for you to climb out of that box and have another life & living??

    • Here’s an interesting point of view…what if there’s no box? Its all merely a creation and if you’re the creator of your life then all you have to do is choose something different and poof the box is gone!–no climbing needed unless you like climbing and sort of into that kind of stuff. LOL
      Caren, what would it take for you to demand the change?
      I agree with Sarah, are you sure MN is out of the question for you in January?
      What else is possible?

      • Great point Maggie! You are spot on…the box isn’t even real. Poof & it’s gone is way more “ease, joy & glory” than climbing…although climbing can be fun sometimes. 😀

  4. What if I started walking towards the “walls” I put up, and I found myself walking right through them! How can I do that? By acting as if? Acting as if I don’t have osteoporosis? I’ve been breaking bones left and right the past two years. I’m scared to even hang out with my horses, let alone ride them! Do I need to “hit bottom” before I demand change? *How* do I demand change? How do I recognize it? SO many questions have been running around my head about this – for decades!

    It is possible that going to MN in January is not out of the question. I am not going to put that limitation on myself!!

    • Now that sounds like a Caren who is making a demand for something different in her life!!! WOOHOO girl! How does it get even better than that!??!?!

      I am not sure that “acting” as if is what is required here. That sounds a bit like “fake it til ya make it” which truthfully, does not work. What possibility is there for true change to show up? What possibility for something so completely different than you could even imagine? Sometimes the change we are asking for shows up in a totally different way than we expect. And usually it’s even better than we expect! How cool is that?!?

      Caren, what are the infinite possibilities that this could work out better than you’ve ever imagined or dreamed possible?? What’s right about this you aren’t getting? What’s right about YOU that you’re not getting? Are you willing to receive all of you, however that YOU shows up?

      I adore you…and am so grateful for your contribution in my life & here on this blog. You are such a gift!

    • How does it get any better than this, Caren?!! Gratitude to you for stepping up and acknowledging where you’re functioning from limitation. What else is possible?

      I definitely like Sarah’s response–she’s so cool!
      Now about osteoporosis…What awareness is your body telling you about this?
      Are you willing to ask your body to give you whatever information is required to change it?
      (if so destroy and uncreate all that and start listening)
      Also, what do you know about “osteoporosis” that you’re pretending not to know?

      So many questions and so many possibilities of new awareness. How does it get even better than this?

      Thank you for your willingness to ask the question. Thanks for being such a contribution!
      How did we get so lucky?

  5. Thanks, Chickies, for opening up my mind! You guys are great! So much more to think about here. But I can feel my mind expanding and the possibilities are just endless, aren’t they? This is exciting! I’ll be coming back to this later, but for now I’ll just say that fear is trying to keep me from being aware. And there seems to be so much more that I’m not aware of. Wow. 😉

    • How does it get even better than this, Caren?! I’m grateful that you’re willing to acknowledge all that. Please let us Conscious Chickies know if you have any other questions. For question empowers you to know more and an answer disempowers you from having more choice and possibilities. Happy New Year 2011! What else is possible?

Leave a Reply

